Food, Fun, and the Races

I had another awesome opportunity to do a little traveling for a job shadow this week!

Thursday evening I hopped in the car heading for Lousiville, Kentucky!  I made a quick stop in Bowling Green for the Corvette Museum, wow!  Some really awesome cars, it’s a must if you are into that sort of thing.

Corvette Museum

Corvette Museum

I hit Louisville right at 5:30, but for some reason there was NO traffic and I was able to drive straight into my downtown hotel.  Later I found out there was a time change and it was actually 6:30, which explains the lack of traffic.  After checking in to my hotel I asked for a dinner recommendation and it was a good one.  I walked a few blocks to BBC (Bluegrass Brewing Company).  I ordered the bluegrass burger… I mean Kentucky IS the bluegrass state!  It was fantastic.  Grass fed beef with pimento cheese, friend green tomatoes, fried onions, and a big piece of ham.  DELICIOUS! After dinner it was off to bed, I’m always shadowing those morning shows!

Bluegrass Burger

Bluegrass Burger

2AM alarm clock came just as early as it always does!  I was off to the new station WLKY in Louisville, Kentucky.  To make it even sweeter, today I job shadowed an OU alum, Matt Milosevich! We had a blast talking about OU and the TV biz.  Learned a lot about making my ever so important resume tape!

Matt Milosevich, WLKY

Matt Milosevich, WLKY

After my 4-9am shift it was time to explore some more!  I had brunch at Toast on Market… the BEST breakfast I have ever ate out.

Toast on Market

Toast on Market

So amazing.  Then I went and walked by the Ohio River… and just to say I went, drove across the bridge to Indiana and drove around for a few minutes.  Then it was getting time to head to Churchill Downs.  The home of the Kentucky Derby.  First I toured the museum to get the full background.  Then it was time for the races to start.  So much history and so many fun things to do.  I can’t imagine how crazy that place is during the Derby!  So glad I got a taste of what it’s like!

DSC01690

DSC01704

Derby Museum

Churchill Downs

Churchill Downs

Churchill Downs

Churchill Downs

Back in Nashville,
Shelby

Leave a Reply

